New banknote series

The transition to a new banknote series

The eighth banknote series will gradually be replaced by the ninth in a process scheduled to take place between 2016 and 2019. The first denomination in the new series – the 50-franc note – has been in circulation since April 2016. The 20-franc note followed in May 2017. The 10-franc note was released on 18 October 2017. The next denomination, the 200-franc note, will be issued in autumn 2018. The last two denominations in the new series, the 1000-franc and 100-franc notes, are to be issued in the course of 2019. The SNB will announce each new date well in advance. Issuance of the entire new series is expected to be completed by 2019. All notes from the eighth banknote series will remain valid until further notice.